2016 – A Year in Review

So 2016 is almost complete. As you may know, we set up Star Trek Éire in 2015 just for the fun of it, seeking out like minded fans in Ireland and beyond to share our love of Star Trek, whether it be online or at our screenings/events. We’re non-profit, so your help and feedback has been much appreciated and inspires us to do more next year! We now have 1699 followers on Facebook and 1452 followers on Twitter, thank you so so much for you support. I thought I’d briefy review some of our favourite moments from throughout 2016.

February 2016 – Spocktail Party

We had a wonderful evening in February in memory of Leonard Nimoy’s passing on Feb 27th 2015. Thank you to all who attended. We watched ‘Amok Time’ and ‘Unification’ 2 parter. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMXk7PU82HI

 

March 2016 – O’Brien Day

Many Star Trek characters have a day during the year when they are celebrated, which is appreciated by the relevant actors on social media. Colm Meaney seems to have a non-existent presence online, but for the fun of it, we decided to go ahead and make Saint Patrick’s Day ‘OBrien Day’ also. Check out our ‘Irish in Space’ video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDrVBVH4Ieg and how important Ireland is to Star Trek here: THE IRISH IN SPACE

 

April 2016 – Sound Trek

During the early part of the year we posted a number of podcasts to our youtube channel, discussing the different theme music in Star Trek from the Original Series through to the movies. If you missed them please have a listen now and let us know what you think!

cover image1

 

 

June 2016 – Anton Yelchin RIP

We marked the tragic death of Anton Yelchin in June with a review of his career and his place in Star Trek. Click image for more.

 

July 2016 – Star Trek Beyond Premiere in Dublin

We brought some of our friends to the premiere of Star Trek Beyond in the Savoy cinema in Dublin! We went for a bite to eat with a few beforehand and finished the evening off with some drinks in the Gresham.

 

September 2016 – Star Trek 50th Anniversary Party!

On September 8th 2016, exactly 50 years after Star Trek debuted in the States, we had a fantastic evening in the Woolshed Bar in Dublin. Thank you to all who attended, including some of our friends from the USS Cuchulain. We watched three of the best episodes (Balance of Terror, Inner Light, Trials & Tribblations), had a Quark style bar menu, dabo roulette wheels, pub quiz, raffles, some Star Trek guests via video, including Brannon Braga, Doug Drexler, Morgan Gendel, Kitty Swink, Armin Shimerman and Robert Picardo! We also had a very successful charity auction raising over 700 euro for the Clubhouse Youth Club in the Liberties in Dublin. They bought some cool soldering irons (pictured below) for their electronics programme and some of their younger members sent us a video to say thank you! We pass this thank you on to all of you who helped raise this money with a special thanks to Eoin Meehan and Sinéad Doyle for donating many items! We also had our own 50th Anniversary tribute to Star Trek, check out the video here.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

October 2016 – Destination Star Trek Europe #DSTE

Some of us travelled over to Destination Star Trek Europe, which was held in Birmingham this year.  It was a great event, and it was brilliant to meet so many Star Trek stars in one place! I could write a lot more but it’s time for me to go celebrate New Year’s Eve so here’s just a small sample of photos below, plus some memorable posts and ‘artwork’ from us on FB and Twitter. Apologies for any typos, please let me know, thanks!

From Shane, Gary, Ciarán and myself, we wish you a prosperous and peaceful new year and we look forward to us all sharing our love of all things Star Trek in 2017. Thanks for following us on Facebook and Twitter! Our major event in 2017 is of course the visit of Terry Farrell to Ireland in March! Looking forward to seeing you there!

Live Long and Prosper!

Best regards,

Ronan.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Social Media Memories from throughout 2016.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.